Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: the beginning of life

This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
August 24, 2003 03:26AM
Hi Andrew,

I'm very sorry no one has gotten back to you in such a long time on such an important matter. Not that I'm an expert. I merely have an opinion I think is in accord with the sentiment of the Holy Faith.You be the judge.
We are taught in the Gospels that our God Jesus assumed humanity at the point of conception. This particular conception as you know is to be immaculate. A gospel ensample:"Behold a Virgin shall conceive, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call His name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is God with us." (Matt. 1:23) "...take unto to thee Mary thy wife: for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost." (Matt. 1:20b) Also we are taught by the Apostle St. Paul in his letter to the Hebrews that "Wherefore in all things it behoved Him to be made like unto His brethren in all things,...." We know that Jesus saw his brethren as beginning their human lives at conception, because conception is where He chose to begin His own human life.
From Lactantius to the present, no Church Father has found human abortion anything less than homicide tantamount to that which could be committed against an adult. There has never been a "lesser human" view within in the holy faith that might allow for human abortion or say a system of chattel slavery such as in Islam or the antebellium Protestant South of the U.S.. These are Protestant & Muslim, not Orthodox concepts. Similarly, you'll find a great deal of Protestants refuse Baptism and Eucharist to their babies, showing clear bias and prejudicial views of their children being somehow inferior to adults. Abortion was born or reborn in this religio-philisophical enviroment, revived from the pagan Roman Empire.