Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Where did you come from?

This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
February 23, 2002 01:53PM
I grew up in the Assembly of God. While I lived in Ft. Worth (age: 13-14) my parents began to get unhappy with the particular one we went to, so they switched to a non-denominational church (Church on the Rock). We began going to Assembly of God again once we moved to Tennessee (during my high school years, age: 15-18). My last year there we switch to a Rhema church (non-denominational) because the former youth pastor at the AG church had come back into town and started a new church. After I graduated I went to college at Oral Roberts University for 4 years. I went there to study for my pre-med studies and graduated with a degree in chemistry. Up to this point I would have classified my religion as a charismatic Christian, only giving a specific denomination if some one asked (that being the Assembly of God). While at ORU I began to learn of all the eccentricacies of these charismatics (from all denominations). Eventually they turned into outrageous ideas even to the point of heresy. But no one there would criticize anyone else because of the famous sermon taught by Benny Hinn every year about "not touching (criticizing) God's annointed." Only some of the theology majors had enough sense to see through some of the ludicrous ideas people were teaching. During my freshman year, a friend of mine converted to Roman Catholicism, but it wasn't until my senior year (when I was completely disillusioned with ORU) that I had enough interaction with him to really start questioning Prostestant Christianity. By this time i am married, and my wife would give her background as Southern Baptist and a "closet charismatic" (a.k.a. a Bapticostal)! As we sear through this together we find problems with the Roman Catholic Church, but since our friend is a Byzantine Catholic, he al